The job market is still fucked

For me personally, it’s okay. But, if I may be so un-American, it is not just about me.

Even in my case, due on the floor in an hour, as I am, it’s half-assed. Management is splitting my overtime between pay periods so I (only sometimes, bitch) work the extra hours without the extra pay. If you or I did this with bank deposits in excess of $10,000, we’d have our accounts seized and possibly our own asses summoned to federal prison. Like any other shitty mess, it depends, but it’s hardly worth the risk.

It took me three months of searching to land this job, two of them truly in earnest. I’m a fucking cashier. My most recent job prior to this one was as a furniture builder and backup stocker at a Macy’s store. I held that job down for two and a half months, straight through the seasonal layoffs in late January. When I’ve gone back in as a customer, I’ve usually found the floor in a condition requiring days of my concerted work, or somebody’s, to look presentable. One of my colleagues told me, “Man, we need you here!”

Bug management, I guess. I won’t object. Our floor management team was excellent. District was seedy. The guy they sent to look over the furniture sales floor and complain that our GM and ASM were wasting “so much carpet” was a flagrant Family Man. I clocked him for Los Angeles mob on the spot. I may be wrong about him, but I’ve hung out with characters adjacent to the Philadelphia mob, e.g., with open invitations to call on the boss in his penthouse on Rittenhouse Square because Dad was a stand-up guy, took the fall for the organization, federal time, you’re always welcome here, Mary, you know that. Other buddies say that means she’s a wholly-owned subsidiary. They may be right.

As I said, District is pretty shit, and in our store, at least, they found a compatible interface to preside over it all. The results were oriented towards their goals, not ours. As seasonal grunts, we rarely even faced the worst of it. Our floor managers HATED the corner office crew. They were the ones who had to deal with them on a regular basis.

Americans are trying to make rent out of this shit. This is not a free country.

Leave a comment